Introduction

Blogs have become a popular form of digital writing among many internet users. One of the most popular are travel blogs. Travel blogs have carved out a place of their own in the blogosphere, generating their own customs and tropes. I have engaged in travel blogging through my own study abroad experience at the University of Birmingham, which explains my intense interest in the subject. While thinking about travel blogs as a form of digital writing, a question comes to my mind, how have travel blogs transformed traditional modes of communication, specifically face-to-face conversations about travel and travel writing, as a form of digital writing?"

As previously mentioned, travel blogs are a distinct form of blogging, so what are its features and how do they contribute to this substantive question?" I will address these questions through the integration of secondary sources throughout my blog posts, as well as various analyses of several travel blogs to complement the academic content. These blogs include my personal blog, Studying Abroad in Birmingham, England" (https://notallthosewhowanderarelost2015.wordpress.com/), a blog that I personally follow, named Travelling the World Solo" (https://wwellend.wordpress.com/), and a professional travel blog called 12hrs" (http://www.12hrs.net/). My research, analyses, and comments regarding this project will be portrayed in a similar fashion to that of travel blogs. This will include a fragmented writing style in chronological order (if my digital platform will allow it), the inclusion of multimedia wherever applicable, as well as other features that will be mentioned later on in the project.

Therefore I will illustrate how travel blogs include social aspects to build a community, present travel experience in different forms of writing, and include multimedia sources to portray travel writing as a hypertext.

Photo taken at the University of Birmingham in Birmingham, England